Posts

The Library Weekly Book Recommendation - KS5/Adult - The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by V E Schwab

Image
  When Addie LaRue makes a deal with the devil, she trades her soul for immortality. But the devil takes away her place in the world, cursing her to be forgotten by everyone. Addie flees her tiny home town in 18th-Century France, beginning a journey that takes her across the world, learning to live a life where no one remembers her and everything she owns is lost and broken. Existing only as a muse for artists throughout history, she learns to fall in love anew every single day. Her only companion on this journey is her dark devil with hypnotic green eyes, who visits her each year on the anniversary of their deal. Alone in the world, Addie has no choice but to confront him, to understand him, maybe to beat him. Until one day, in a second hand bookshop in Manhattan, Addie meets someone who remembers her. Suddenly thrust back into a real, normal life, Addie realises she can’t escape her fate forever. Publisher:  Titan Books Ltd   ISBN:  9781785652509   Number of pages:  560  

The Library Weekly Book Recommendation - KS3 - A Clock of Stars, The Shadow Moth by Francesca Gibbons

Image
  With all the magic of Narnia and the humour of Mary Poppins, this is a future middle grade fantasy classic - and the beginning of an unforgettable journey... Imogen should be nice to her little sister Marie. She should be nice to her mum's boyfriend too. And she certainly shouldn't follow a strange silver moth through a door in a tree. But then... who does what they're told? Followed by Marie, Imogen finds herself falling into a magical kingdom where the two sisters are swept up in a thrilling race against time - helped by the spoiled prince of the kingdom, a dancing bear, a very grumpy hunter... and even the stars above them. Thrilling, sharply funny, and with characters you will fall in love with,  A Clock of Stars  is a timeless fantasy from an astonishing new voice. Publisher:  HarperCollins Publishers   ISBN:  9780008355036   Number of pages:  496  

The Library Weekly Book Recommendation - KS4 - When the World Was Ours by Liz Kessler

Image
  A powerful and heart-breaking novel about three childhood friends living during the Second World War whose fates are closely intertwined, even when their lives take very different courses. For readers of  Private Peaceful, The Book Thief  and Anne Frank's  The Diary of a Young Girl.  Three friends. Two sides. One memory. Vienna. 1936. Three young friends - Leo, Elsa and Max - spend a perfect day together, unaware that around them Europe is descending into a growing darkness, and that events soon mean that they will be cruelly ripped apart from each other. With their lives taking them across Europe - to Germany, England, Prague and Poland - will they ever find their way back to each other? Will they want to?  Inspired by a true story, WHEN THE WORLD WAS OURS is an extraordinary novel that is as powerful as it is heartbreaking, and shows how the bonds of love, family and friendship allow glimmers of hope to flourish, even in the most hopeless of times. Publisher:  Simon & Schus

The Library Weekly Book Recommendation - The Shadow King by Maaza Mengiste

Image
  Shortlisted for the  Booker Prize  2020 Ethiopia 1935. With the threat of Mussolini's army looming, recently orphaned Hirut struggles to adapt to her new life as a maid. Her new employer, Kidane, an officer in Emperor Haile Selassie's army, rushes to mobilise his strongest men before the Italians invade. Hirut and the other women long to do more than care for the wounded and bury the dead. When Emperor Haile Selassie goes into exile and Ethiopia quickly loses hope, it is Hirut who offers a plan to maintain morale. She helps disguise a gentle peasant as the emperor and soon becomes his guard, inspiring other women to take up arms. But how could she have predicted her own personal war, still to come, as a prisoner of one of Italy's most vicious officers? The Shadow King  is a gorgeously crafted and unputdownable exploration of female power, and what it means to be a woman at war. Publisher:  Canongate Books Ltd   ISBN:  9781838851170   Number of pages:  448  

The Library Weekly Book Recommendation - Burn by Patrick Ness

Image
  An all-consuming story of revenge, redemption and dragons from the twice Carnegie Medal-winner  Patrick Ness On a cold Sunday evening in early 1957, Sarah Dewhurst waited with her father in the parking lot of the Chevron Gas Station for the dragon he'd hired to help on the farm. This dragon, Kazimir, has more to him than meets the eye. Sarah can't help but be curious about him, an animal who supposedly doesn't have a soul but is seemingly intent on keeping her safe from the brutal attentions of Deputy Sheriff Emmett Kelby. Kazimir knows something she doesn't. He has arrived at the farm because of a prophecy. A prophecy that involves a deadly assassin, a cult of dragon worshippers, two FBI agents - and somehow, Sarah Dewhurst herself. From the bestselling author of the Chaos Walking trilogy comes a heart-stopping story of fanaticism, hope, bravery and impossible second chances, set in a world on the very brink of its own destruction. Publisher:  Walker Books Ltd   ISBN

The Library Weekly Book Recommendation - Shuri: A Black Panther Novel by Marvel - Marvel Black Panther 1

Image
  From New York Times bestselling author Nic Stone comes an all-new upper-middle-grade series based on one of the Marvel Universe's break-out characters - Shuri, from Black Panther! An original, upper-middle-grade series starring the break-out character from the Black Panther comics and films: T'Challa's younger sister, Shuri! Crafted by New York Times bestselling author Nic Stone. Shuri is a skilled martial artist, a genius and a master of science and technology. But, she's also a teenager. And a princess. This story follows Shuri as she sets out on a quest to save her homeland of Wakanda. For centuries, the Chieftain of Wakanda (the Black Panther) has gained his powers through the juices of the Heart-Shaped Herb. Much like Vibranium, the Heart-Shaped Herb is essential to the survival and prosperity of Wakanda. But something is wrong. The plants are dying. No matter what the people of Wakanda do, they can't save them. And their supply is running short. It's up

The Library Weekly Book Recommendation - KS3 - The Jungle Books by Rudyard Kipling

Image
  When Rudyard Kipling’s now-classic collection of fables known as  The Jungle Book  was first published in magazines between 1893 to 1894, some of them were accompanied by illustrations from the hand of his father, John Lockwood Kipling. But however it is illustrated, as with every incarnation of  The Jungle Book , it is Kipling’s simple, engaging and profound telling of his stories and their accompanying poems that continue to capture the attention and affection of generations of children. Part of Penguin's beautiful hardback Clothbound Classics series, designed by the award-winning  Coralie Bickford-Smith , these delectable and collectible editions are bound in high-quality colourful, tactile cloth with foil stamped into the design. Publisher:  Penguin Books Ltd   ISBN:  9780141394626   Number of pages:  448